skip to main content


9 months ago

Troy CCSD 30-C provides the services of nine (9) registered nurses who assume the title of Medical Aide and perform duties as determined by the administration. If your child needs to take medicine during the course of the school day, please go to the Health Forms link and download, print, and send the Administering Medication Form to school with your child.   Additional information on administering medication is also provided for your convenience.

        Troy Nursing Staff

Craughwell Elementary      Cheryl Hoffman R.N.  815-577-7313
Heritage Trail Elementary
Elisabeth Kacena R.N.
Hofer Elementary        Nicole Koncel R.N.   815-577-6758
Shorewood Elementary        Sharman Strode R.N.  815-577-7312
Troy Middle School      Sandy Smith R.N.   815-230-9920
Crossroads Elementary        Laura Bolyn R.N.
      Lori Dorman R.N.
William B. Orenic Intermediate      Cynthia Nevsimal R.N.
      Juanita Hollenbeck L.P.N.

Exams & Immunizations

over 2 years ago

Physical Exam Requirements

As per Troy Board of Education Policy 7:100, effective in August of 2004, all students entering Pre-School, Kindergarten and Grade 6 and any student who enters the Troy School District must present proof of a physical examination by a medical doctor (licensed physician) and proof of completion of required immunizations and screenings (lead and diabetes) for preventable communicable disease prior to the first day of school.


Exemption from Physical Activity

A child may be exempt from some or all physical activities when the appropriate reason is submitted to the school by parent(s)/guardian(s) (for one day) or by a person licensed under the Medical Practice Act. Alternative activities and/or units of instruction will be provided for pupils whose physical or emotional condition, as determined by a person licensed under the Medical Practice Act, prevents their participation in physical education courses. (Board Policy 7:260)


Dental Exam Requirements

In addition, PA 93-946, recently adopted by the Illinois General Assembly, requires children entering Kindergarten, Second grade and Sixth grade to present proof of having been examined by a dentist before May 15th of the school year.


Vision Exam Requirements

Proof of eye examination within one year prior to Kindergarten and for all students who are entering school for the first time in Illinois.  This is an Illinois State Law which took effect on January 1, 2008. 

Sick Child

over 2 years ago

Parents may be required to provide a physician’s note before a child returns to school if absences exceed three (3) consecutive days due to illness.

The Department of Public Health states that children who have the following illnesses must remain at home for a required time period: 


  •  Vomiting and Temp 100 degrees and above - Students are required to stay at home for 24 hours after the onset of symptoms and must be symptom free (without fever reducing medicine) for 24 hours before returning to school.
  •  Cough/Runny Nose with Green Discharge - Students are required to stay at home for 24 hours after the onset of symtoms.
  •  Pink Eye - Students are required to stay at home after the onset of symtoms related to an eye(s) that is draining, itching, and /or appears pink, red or swollen. A doctor's note is required for student's return to school after starting antibiotic eye drops.
  •  Chicken Pox - Isolation is required for at least six (6) days after appearance of eruption.
  •  Measles- Isolation is required from diagnosis until seven (7) days after the appearance of a rash.
  •  Mumps - Isolation is required for nine (9) days following the swelling of the glands.
  •  Lice- Any student having head lice will be sent home for treatment. All lice and eggs must be removed from the child's hair before he/she returns to school. The Nurse will examine the child's hair before allowed to return to class. Students will not be allowed to resume bus transportation until cleared by the Nurse.
  •  Rash, Ringworm, Skin Conditions, Wounds - Students will not be allowed to attend school with any noticeable rash or skin condition unless a physician's note is on file stating the student's condition is NOT contagious. Any lesion or wound that shows signs of drainage must be covered.
  •  Scarlet Fever, Impetigo or Fifth's Disease - Isolation is required. Student's are excluded from school until seen by a doctor and will not be allowed to return to school until a note is received from a doctor stating the student is NOT contagious.


Homebound & Hospital Illnesses

The home/hospital program is provided for a minimum of five (5) hours per week to any student with a health or physical impairment.  The student's physician must complete a medical certification form to verify that the student will be absent from school for more than two (2) consecutive weeks. Parents or guardians of students who are in need of services should contact the building counselor for specifics.


Student Blood Contact Incidents

The Illinois Department of Labor adopted the federal Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OHSA) regulations on bloodborne pathogens. Students who are involved in a blood incident (exposure of a student's blood to any school district employee in any manner in which a student's blood could have penetrated non-intact skin, eyes, mouth or other mucous membranes) may be requested to have their blood tested for bloodborne pathogens at the expense of the school district. Parents or guardians will be asked to allow their child to be tested. All laws pertaining to confidentiality will be followed. The OHSA regulations apply only to students who have blood incidents with school district employees. The OHSA regulations do not apply to students who are exposed to other students’ blood. All questions pertaining to this policy should be directed to the Superintendent.

Abuse & Neglect
Section 4 of The Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act states " personnel...having reasonable cause to believe a child known to them in their professional capacity may be an abused child or a neglected child shall immediately report or cause a report to be made to the Department..., they shall notify the person in charge...that such report has been made." The report shall be made immediately by calling 1-800-252-2873. This number is the Child Abuse Hotline that has been established by the Department of Children and Family Services for the reporting of child abuse/neglect situations.